Seth Glier


Regular price $15.00 $0.00


On his new MPress Records album Birds, Grammy®-nominated artist Seth Glier captures a determined strength born from hardship – including the passing of his autistic brother – through songs enveloped by a warm, slightly offbeat sense of hope, humor, and a dogged belief in the human spirit. Co-produced by Glier, Steve Lunt (Cyndi Lauper) and mixed by Grammy® winner Dave Darlington (Herbie Hancock), the collection features guest appearances by cellist Dave Eggar (Esperanza Spalding), drummer/programmer Steven Wolf (Rufus Wainwright)and longtime sideman Joe Nerney. Birds is, as the artist himself describes, "not as much about grief as it is about growth.”

Arcs of gentle, moody introspection (“Hasn’t Hit Me Yet”, “Sunshine”) and Brian Wilson-esque harmonies are cocooned by powerhouse social call-to-action-songs such as “Water On Fire” (inspired by the Standing Rock Sioux protests) and his bluesy, earth-shaking cover of the Buffalo Springfield classic “For What It’s Worth”. 

Lushly arranged with a thick sheen of old-school sophistication à la 70’s era Harry NilssonBirds uniquely pushes the boundaries of contemporary indie pop by offering substantive songs that represent something greater than ourselves. These are songs that people will rally behind. Songs that shape lives, change views, invite dialogue.  But most of all: songs that give us a reason for being.


1. Sunshine
2. Water On Fire
3. Birds
4. Just Because I Can
5. People Like Us
6. Like I Do
7. For What It’s Worth
8. Too Much Water
9. Justice For All
10. Hasn’t Hit Me Yet
11. I’m Still Looking

More from this collection